Community Bankers Association of Illinois

U.S. Reps. LaHood and Hare Support Communities First Act!

Sixteen lawmakers in the House of Representatives have signed up to co-sponsor the Communities First Act (H.R. 1869 and S. 1405), the ICBA/CBAI-inspired regulatory and tax relief legislation for community banks and Main Street America. CBAI is happy to report that among the newest cosponsors of the CFA are 2 members of the Illinois delegation; Rep. Phil Hare (D-17) and Rep. Ray LaHood (R-18). In addition, Reps. Jason Altmire (D-Pa.), Dan Boren (D-Okla.), Chris Cannon (R-Utah), Al Green (D-Texas), Peter Hoekstra (R-Mich.), Kenny Marchant (R-Texas), Ron Paul (R-Texas), Albio Sires (D-N.J.), Jo Bonner (R-Ala.), Ginny Brown-Waite (R-Fla.), Chet Edwards (D-Texas), Jerry McNerney (D-Calif.), David Scott (D-Ga.) and Mark Souder (R-Ind.) have also been added as co-sponsors. If you are a constituent of Rep. Ray LaHood or Rep. Phil Hare please reach out by calling or e-mailing a note of appreciation for their support!

CBAI members who are not constituents of Rep. Lahood or Rep. Hare, should immediately contact their congressman, who will be in their home districts for the Independence Day congressional recess this week, to urge them to become a co-sponsor of CFA. The bi-partisan CFA is supported by nearly 50 state banking associations, and features 30 targeted measures to help community banks better serve the needs of their individual and small business customers in Main Street America. The bill would also enhance individual savings. Read Bill Summary.

Contact your Senator and U.S Representative Today!

  800.736.2224 (IL) | 217.529.2265  
  DISCLAIMER: The association is not responsible for and has no control over the subject matter, content, information, or graphics when viewing links attached to this association's site.